10720 Preston Rd. Ste. 1009B | Dallas, Texas 75230

214.484.4289

| | My Account | Cart (0)

Tom's Book Recommendations

Staff Pick Badge
Red Sparrow: A Novel (The Red Sparrow Trilogy #1) Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781476706139
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Scribner - December 9th, 2014

This is my favorite contemporary spy novel, in great part due to the author’s 33 years of CIA experience running agents in denied area operations around the world. Jason Matthews incorporates so much of his tradecraft into these books that the CIA was surprised how little was censored.


7th Sigma Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9780765375001
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Tor Books - June 26th, 2012

This coming-of-age story harkens back to Kipling’s Kim with an adventurous youth escaping to the badlands of the Southwest US in a future where mechanical insects harvest all accessible metal. This is a fantastic adventure novel which I highly recommend!


WAR Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780446556224
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Twelve - May 17th, 2011

This phenomenal book distills the essence of 15 months that Sebastian Junger spent embedded in a combat outpost on a mountainside in Afghanistan.
 


Staff Pick Badge
Fool: A Novel Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9780060590321
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - February 23rd, 2010

Christopher Moore turns Shakespeare’s classic play King Lear on its ear as the eponymous protagonist steals the show in this hilarious homage. Power plays seldom do well by the little fellows, but this book does a great job of puncturing the pretensions of its characters.


The Name of the Wind (Kingkiller Chronicle #1) Cover Image
$19.00
ISBN: 9780756405892
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: DAW - April 7th, 2009

Lyrical and hauntingly beautiful, Patrick Rothfuss meticulously chooses every word of his incredible first novel. A truly outstanding book of epic fantasy, perfect for readers who enjoyed George R. R. Martin, Naomi Novik, or Brandon Sanderson.


Good Omens: The Nice and Accurate Prophecies of Agnes Nutter, Witch Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780060853976
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - August 7th, 2007

The funniest book I’ve ever read about the end of the world. When an angel and a demon work to thwart the Apocalypse, situations both serious and hilarious arise. God said, “Let there be levity.” And there was levity.
 


First Test: Book 1 of the Protector of the Small Quartet Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780375829055
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Ember - August 24th, 2004

Animal loving Kel hates bullies and perseveres no matter the obstacles set against her in her quest to become a knight. A delightful first to Tamora Pierce’s Protector of the Small series, tracing the origins of Tortall’s first openly female knight from page to squire to knight.


Ghost Soldiers: The Epic Account of World War II's Greatest Rescue Mission Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780385495653
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Anchor - May 7th, 2002

A brilliantly written history of the greatest prison raid of WWII. The survivors of the Bataan Death March were starving to death in the POW camp at Cabanatuan, awaiting the expected massacre at the hands of their Japanese prison guards. This is the story of their rescue.