5600 W. Lovers Lane #142 | Dallas, TX 75209

214.484.4289

| | My Account | Cart (0)

QUINTESSENCE & FOREST OF STARS

Jess Redman & Heather Kassner

Join Interabang Books for the rescheduled conversation between Jess Redman and Heather Kassner on Thursday, September at 6:00 CST as they discuss their new books QUINTESSENCE and THE FOREST OF STARS. We’ll be here on Facebook Live, so come join us! Please direct any questions about this event to tom@interabangbooks.com.

Buy QUINTESSENCE and THE FOREST OF STARS below!


QUINTESSENCE is an extraordinary story from Jess Redman about friendship, self-discovery, interconnectedness, and the inexplicable elements that make you YOU:

Three months ago, 12-year-old Alma moved to Four Points. Her panic attacks started a week later and haven’t stopped—even though she’s told her parents that they have. She’s homesick and friendless, and every day she feels less and less like herself. But one day she finds a telescope in the town’s junk shop, and through its lens, she watches a star—a star that looks like a child—fall from the sky and into her backyard. Alma knows what it’s like to be lost and afraid, to long for home, and she knows that it’s up to her to save the star. And so, with the help of unlikely new friends from Astronomy Club, she sets out on a quest that will take a little bit of science, a little bit of magic, and her whole self.

THE FOREST OF STARS by Heather Kassner is a mysterious and mesmerizing fantasy novel, perfect for fans of Splendor and Glooms and Circus Mirandus. Heather Kassner weaves a spectacle of wondrous magic, unexpected friendship, and dark secrets in the new book, about a windswept girl who can float among the stars searches for her long-lost father at a shadow-filled carnival.

“Kassner’s writing dazzles . . . a tale of hope, courage, and friendship.” —Newbery Honor winner Ingrid Law

Left all alone after her mother passes away, 12-year-old Louisa LaRoche watches the sky for her father. Long ago, a powerful gust of wind swept through town, stealing him away on the wings of his untamed magic—the same magic that stirs within Louisa. As if she is made of hollow bones and too much air, her feet never quite touch the ground.

But for all her sky gazing, Louisa finds her fortune on the leaf-strewn street when she spots a gleaming black-and-gold invitation—a ticket to the Carnival Beneath the Stars. If her father fits in nowhere else, maybe she’ll find him there, dazzling crowds alongside the other strange and wonderful feats. Only, soon after she arrives, a tightrope act ends disastrously—and suspiciously. As fate tugs Louisa closer to the stars, she must decide if she’s willing to slip into the injured performer’s role, despite the darkness plucking at the carnival’s magical threads.

ABOUT THE AUTHORS

Jess Redman is a therapist and psychology teacher. She currently lives in Florida with her husband, two young children, and an old cat named Soul Pie. 

Heather Kassner loves thunderstorms, hummingbirds, and books. She lives with her husband in Arizona, waiting (and waiting and waiting) for the rain, photographing hummingbirds, and reading and writing strange little stories.

Thursday, September 10th, 6:00PM
Event address: 
facebook.com/interabangbooks
Quintessence Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780374309763
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR) - July 28th, 2020

The Forest of Stars Cover Image
By Heather Kassner, Iz Ptica (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250297006
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) - August 4th, 2020