Joanne Leedom-Ackerman

We are excited to host returning author Joanne Leedom-Ackerman with her new book, The Far Side of the Desert.

 

Description


A terrorist attack—a kidnapping—the ultimate vacation gone wrong

Sisters Samantha and Monte Waters are vacationing together in Santiago de Compostela, Spain, enjoying a festival and planning to meet with their brother, Cal—but the idyllic plans are short-lived. When terrorists’ attacks rock the city around them, Monte, a U.S. foreign service officer, and Samantha, an international television correspondent, are separated, and one of them is whisked away in the frenzy.

The family mobilizes, using all their contacts to try to find their missing sister, but to no avail. She has vanished. As time presses on, the outlook darkens. Can she be found, or is she a lost cause? And, even if she returns, will the damage to her and those around her be irreparable?

Moving from Spain to Washington to Morocco to Gibraltar to the Sahara Desert, The Far Side of the Desert is a family drama and political thriller that explores links of terrorism, crime, and financial manipulation, revealing the grace that ultimately foils destruction.

Perfect for fans of Lisa Jewell and Daniel Silva

 

About the Author


Joanne Leedom-Ackerman is a novelist, short story writer, and journalist whose works of fiction include Burning Distance, The Dark Path to the River, and No Marble Angels. Her recent nonfiction book, PEN Journeys: Memoir of Literature on the Line, drew inspiration from her job as a vice president of the worldwide writers and human rights organization PEN International. She is also on the boards of the American Writers Museum, the International Center for Journalists, Words Without Borders, and Refugees International. She is a member of the Council on Foreign Relations and the Texas Institute of Letters. The Far Side of the Desert is her latest novel.
Saturday, March 16th, 4:00PM
Event address: 

            

The Far Side of the Desert

By Joanne Leedom-Ackerman

The Far Side of the Desert By Joanne Leedom-Ackerman Cover Image
$27.95
ISBN: 9781608095353
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Oceanview Publishing - March 5th, 2024

The Far Side of the Desert By Joanne Leedom-Ackerman Cover Image
$27.95
ISBN: 9781608095353
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Oceanview Publishing - March 5th, 2024

Homepage Blurb: 
with author Joanne Leedom-Ackerman