5600 W. Lovers Lane #142 | Dallas, TX 75209

214.484.4289

| | My Account | Cart (0)

Caroline Louise Walker discusses and signs Man of the Year

Caroline Louise Walker

Beware the Man of the Year. You may praise him, resent him, even want to be him: but beneath the elegant trappings, danger looms. Caroline Louise Walker’s stunning debut, for fans of Herman Koch’s The Dinner and Shari Lapena’s The Couple Next Door, delves into the mind of a man whose life as the most upstanding of citizens hides a dark heart. 

Biting and timely, Man of the Year races along at an electric pace, with a wicked twist you won’t see coming.

Dr. Robert Hart, Sag Harbor’s just-named Man of the Year, is the envy of his friends and neighbors. His medical practice is thriving. He has a beautiful old house and a beautiful new wife and a beautiful boat docked in the village marina. His wayward son, Jonah, is back on track, doing well at school, finally worthy of his father’s attentions. So when Jonah’s college roommate, Nick, needs a place to stay for the summer, Hart and his wife generously offer their guest house. A win-win: Jonah will have someone to hang with, and his father can bask in the warm glow of his own generosity.

But when he begins to notice his new houseguest getting a little too close to his wife, the good doctor’s veneer begins to crack. All the little lies Robert tells begin to mount. Before long, he’s embroiled in a downward spiral, destroying the lives that stand in his way. Only the women in his life—his devoted office manager, his friends, his wife—can clearly see the truth.

Caroline Louise Walker grew up in Rock Island, Illinois. For her fiction and nonfiction, she has received fellowships from the MacDowell Colony, the Kerouac Project, and Jentel Arts. She holds an MA from New York University. Man of the Year is her first novel.

Thursday, August 1st, 6:00PM
Event address: 
10720 Preston Road
Ste 1009B
Dallas, TX 75230
Man of the Year Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781982100452
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Gallery Books - June 11th, 2019