Kate Khavari

We are excited to host Kate Khavari in-store on Tuesday, June 13th at 6:00 to discuss her new book, A Botanist's Guide to Flowers and Fatality.

Description


Brilliant botanist Saffron Everleigh is back and ready for adventure in Kate Khavari’s next mesmerizing historical mystery.

“A cleverly plotted puzzle” (Ashley Weaver) in the vein of Opium and Absinthe, this second installment is perfect for fans of Rhys Bowen and Sujata Massey.


1920s London isn’t the ideal place for a brilliant woman with lofty ambitions. But research assistant Saffron Everleigh is determined to beat the odds in a male-dominated field at the University College of London. Saffron embarks on her first research study alongside the insufferably charming Dr. Michael Lee, traveling the countryside with him in response to reports of poisonings. But when Detective Inspector Green is given a case with a set of unusual clues, he asks for Saffron’s assistance.

The victims, all women, received bouquets filled with poisonous flowers. Digging deeper, Saffron discovers that the bouquets may be more than just unpleasant flowers— there may be a hidden message within them, revealed through the use of the old Victorian practice of floriography. A dire message, indeed, as each woman who received the flowers has turned up dead.

Alongside Dr. Lee and her best friend, Elizabeth, Saffron trails a group of suspects through a dark jazz club, a lavish country estate, and a glittering theatre, delving deeper into a part of society she thought she’d left behind forever.

Will Saffron be able to catch the killer before they send their next bouquet, or will she find herself with fatal flowers of her own in Kate Khavari’s second intoxicating installment.

 

About the Author


Kate Khavari is the author of fiction ranging from historical mysteries to high fantasy epics. She has her parents to thank for her fascination for historical mysteries, as she spent the majority of her childhood memorizing Sherlock Holmes’s and Poirot’s greatest quips. A former teacher, Kate has a deep appreciation for research and creativity, not to mention the multitasking ability she now relies on as an author and stay at home mother to her toddler son. She lives in the Dallas-Fort Worth area of Texas with her husband, son, and a lovely garden that contains absolutely no poisonous plants.
Tuesday, June 13th, 6:00PM
Event address: 

            

A Botanist's Guide to Flowers and Fatality (A Saffron Everleigh Mystery #2)

By Kate Khavari

A Botanist's Guide to Flowers and Fatality (A Saffron Everleigh Mystery #2) By Kate Khavari Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781639102785
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Crooked Lane Books - June 6th, 2023

A Botanist's Guide to Flowers and Fatality (A Saffron Everleigh Mystery #2) By Kate Khavari Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781639102785
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Crooked Lane Books - June 6th, 2023

Homepage Blurb: 
Kate Khavari talks her new historical mystery, A BOTANIST'S GUIDE TO FLOWERS AND FATALITY