A First Book of Schubert: For the Beginning Pianist with Downloadable Mp3s By David Dutkanicz Cover Image
Out of Stock Indefinitely


Noted for his technical finesse and his fondness for experimentation, Franz Schubert was one of the leading composers of the late Classical and early Romantic eras. This collection includes a wide variety of his most beloved pieces in simplified arrangements, making them a satisfying and accessible introduction to the Austrian composer's work for beginners. Presented in gradually increasing order of difficulty, the pieces feature simplified keys and suggested fingerings.
Selections include highlights from Schubert's symphonies; "Ave Maria," the composer's most famous work; three of the charming Noble Waltzes; and excerpts from the "Trout" quintet and the string quartet "Death and the Maiden." Several poems set to music include Goethe's "The Erl King," "Gretchen at the Spinning Wheel," and "The Shepherd's Plaint." All 35 selections are available as downloadable MP3s.

About the Author

Franz Peter Schubert was an Austrian composer of the late Classical and early Romantic eras. Despite his short lifetime, Schubert left behind a vast oeuvre, including more than 600 secular vocal works, seven complete symphonies, sacred music, operas, incidental music, and a large body of piano and chamber music.

Product Details
ISBN: 9780486833149
ISBN-10: 0486833143
Publisher: Dover Publications
Publication Date: July 17th, 2019
Pages: 48
Language: English