The Elephant Girl By James Patterson, Ellen Banda-Aaku, Sophia Krevoy (With) Cover Image
$16.99
On Our Shelves Now
On hand as of Aug 16 5:03am
(KIDS MIDDLE GRADE FICTION)

July/August 2022 Kids Indie Next List


“Jama shares her heart with Mbegu, caring for her safety and well-being. She finds solace in her elephant friends when humans let her down, and the relationship that blossoms is one with mutual respect and thoughtfulness at the center.”
— Honor Ford, The Doylestown & Lahaska Bookshops, Doylestown, PA

Description


AN INDIE NEXT PICK AND AN AMAZON BEST BOOK OF THE MONTH!
 
#1 bestselling author James Patterson and award-winning author Ellen Banda-Aaku deliver an unforgettable story of a girl, an elephant, and their life-changing friendship—perfect for fans of The One and Only Ivan, Pax, and Because of Winn-Dixie.
 
Clever, sensitive Jama likes elephants better than people. While her classmates gossip—especially about the new boy, Leku—twelve-year-old Jama takes refuge at the watering hole outside her village. There she befriends a baby elephant she names Mbegu, Swahili for seed. 
 
When Mbegu’s mother, frightened by poachers, stampedes, Jama and Mbegu are blamed for two deaths—one elephant and one human. Now Leku, whose mysterious and imposing father is head ranger at the conservancy, may be their only lifeline.    
 
Inspired by true events, The Elephant Girl is a moving exploration of the bonds between creatures and the power of belonging. 
 
“Emotionally thrilling and richly satisfying.” – Kirkus Reviews
“This powerful novel …is thoroughly grounded in Jama’s bravery, moral strength, and genuine love for the animals that share her home.” – Publishers Weekly

About the Author


James Patterson is the world's bestselling author. The creator of Max Einstein and Middle School, he founded JIMMY Patterson to publish books that young readers will love. He lives in Florida with his family.

Ellen Banda-Aaku is an award-winning author and producer. She has lived, studied, and worked in Ghana, South Africa, and Zambia, and currently lives in the UK with her two children.

Praise For…


"Emotionally thrilling and richly satisfying." —Kirkus

"Patterson and Banda-Aaku’s well-developed, vividly set story is thoroughly grounded in Jama’s bravery, moral strength, and genuine love for the animals that share her home."—Publishers Weekly


Product Details
ISBN: 9780316316927
ISBN-10: 031631692X
Publisher: jimmy patterson
Publication Date: July 25th, 2022
Pages: 272
Language: English