Beethoven 1806 (AMS Studies in Music) By Mark Ferraguto Cover Image
NOT IN STOCK - Usually arrives in 7 - 14 business days


Between early 1806 and early 1807, Ludwig van Beethoven completed a remarkable series of instrumental works. But critics have struggled to reconcile the music of this banner year with Beethoven's heroic style, the paradigm through which his middle-period works have typically been understood.
Drawing on theories of mediation and a wealth of primary sources, Beethoven 1806 explores the specific contexts in which the music of this year was conceived, composed, and heard. As author Mark Ferraguto argues, understanding this music depends on appreciating the relationships that it both creates
and reflects. Not only did Beethoven depend on patrons, performers, publishers, critics, and audiences to earn a living, but he also tailored his compositions to suit particular sensibilities, proclivities, and technologies.

About the Author

Mark Ferraguto teaches undergraduate and graduate music history at the Pennsylvania State University. His research areas include the music and culture of 18th- and early 19th-century Europe, historical performance practices, and music and politics.

Product Details
ISBN: 9780190947187
ISBN-10: 0190947187
Publisher: Oxford University Press, USA
Publication Date: September 24th, 2019
Pages: 272
Language: English
Series: AMS Studies in Music